Our distant future, glimpsed through a door.

Busy week. We’re all coming off the bustle of a holiday weekend and, as I mentioned on Monday, my husband’s car was rear-ended on Sunday afternoon. I haven’t had much time to go out looking for photographic opportunities, so I took a little time tonight to tweak an existing photo into an image suitable for postaweek.

It just so happens that I took a lucky photograph the night before this week’s photo prompt — “door” — was announced. It was a pretty boring shot in reality, but I’ve cropped it and played with some filters to make it look more like the way I perceived it when I was inspired to snap the pic.

come into the bar

I love being on the patio of a bar or coffee shop, and I don’t usually pay much attention to whatever might be going on in the building, but on this particular night a really good blues band was playing inside. I tried to sort of translate the auditory glow that was pouring out into the evening by making both a black & white version and a color-saturated version, then merging the two.

THE FUTURE:

This bar is called Hoolihan’s, and it’s just a neighborhood joint, located a couple of blocks off the main drag that runs through a pretty, historic town. It’s a bit run-down, even a little dive-y. They serve a lot of beer, strong single-pour drinks, and overpriced Heggie’s pizza, which they bake in what amounts to a large toaster oven. Most nights there is a local band. The regulars are friendly, middle-aged working folks, many of whom live within walking distance of the pub.

The upper floor of the building is an apartment.

Someday, when my husband retires, we want to own, operate and live in a place just like it.

I'm part of Post A Week 2015

Click here to visit the Post a Week home.

Here are some of my favorite entries for the Door prompt  from others:

(I’ll add more as I have time to browse, so feel free to check back.)

No Naked Visitors | no prostitutes at this address | (I sense a theme here … or maybe these are the ones that are catching my eye because it’s late and I’m tired) | where does this one go?Chitradurga Fort | Green Doors | the leper’s door | maybe I’d disappear if I stepped through it | Once There Was a Door | guess which city these doors are in | check out the light captured in the last one |  barn door | Abandoned and Forgotten | the window painter’s vana scary door in a hotel (!) |


3 Comments on “Our distant future, glimpsed through a door.”

  1. You wouldn’t get much sleep above a bar. But I like the idea.

  2. Amy Reese says:

    I’m so touched that you included my photo!! Many thanks, Renae. I love yours. It’s ultra cool.


Leave a comment