This Week in Macabre & Mysterious Media: June 8 – 14, 2015

Availability status updated Aug. 3rd, 2015

~YOUR MUSICAL INTERLUDE~

Sharp Was the River Bending by Jus Post Bellum

This week, I’m most excited about this:

movie poster jonathan strange & mr norrell

~THE MOVIES~

NEW ON NETFLIX & IN REDBOX:

Nightcrawler (2014) R

Will be available on Netflix streaming June 10th.
I’ve enthusiastically recommended this fantastic movie before, and now it’s coming to streaming. You have no excuses. 🙂
On IMDb here.

IN THEATERS:

Jurassic World (2015) PG-13

Opens in general release Friday, June 12th.
On IMDb here.

~ON TV~

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell – BBC TV SERIES

BBC AMERICA | Saturdays | 10/9c | Series premiere June 12th.
From the homepage:
“1806. England is beleaguered by the long war with Napoleon and centuries have passed since practical magicians faded into the nation’s past. However, scholars of this glorious history discover that one remains — the reclusive and skillful Mr Norrell (Marsan). His displays of magic soon thrill the nation. In London, he raises the beautiful Lady Pole (Englert) from the dead and summons an army of ghostly ships to terrify the French.”

Oh, my! I didn’t know this was coming. I can’t wait. (Did you read the book?)

UPDATE: I watched the first episode and set my DVR to record the next. I am intrigued by the story. The acting and settings are both appealing. My caution comes from two things: I’m not convinced by the special effects and I have trouble following some of the dialog because of the heavy accents of some of the characters. (The street magician / prophet, for example.) This is a personal failing. I can’t decipher “street” (cockney?) English very well. 

~***~

INDEX TO ALL MACABRE & MYSTERIOUS MEDIA FEATURES HERE

The color of the title is keyed as follows:
Black = Have not yet experienced. I’m interested … or I think you’ll be interested.
Red = Have experienced. Not recommended. Worse than the reviews or buzz indicated.
Orange = Have experienced. Recommended, with reservations or cautions.
Green = Have experienced. Recommended. Good (or great) work that lives up to its potential.

4 Comments on “This Week in Macabre & Mysterious Media: June 8 – 14, 2015”

  1. We were just talking about seeing Nightcrawler AND Jurassic World. Your post is very timely! Then again, let’s see what Rotten Tomatoes has to say about the 4th dinosaur installment…

  2. Thanks for the heads-up on the BBC series. I’ll check it out.


Leave a comment