Macabre Media: Zodiac (2007)

I’m going to try adding a regularly scheduled feature, or two, to my blog. I’ll start by giving “media monday” a trial for a few weeks. Please let me know if you like it. (And feel free to offer a differing opinion, if you’re familiar with the work I discuss.)

click to view IMDb listing

I watched David Fincher’s Zodiac (2007) last night – for the second time in as many months. (I somehow missed it when it came out.) If you’ve read my post, hot autumn nights and serial killers, you know I have long been fascinated by these predators, but that is not the only reason I love this film. (I also have an unhealthy affection for Robert Downey Jr., who is phenomenal, in this movie, as Paul Avery – a reporter obsessed with the Zodiac killings.)

Be aware: this film is based on the book, Zodiac, by Robert Graysmith, and not all Zodiac experts believe his theories have merit. Still, I think the movie itself is a marvel of compelling acting, subtle humor and deft – if leisurely – storytelling.This is a lengthy work, (2h 37m) paced thoughtfully, which covers at least a decade of investigation – so be prepared to settle in, or to watch in a couple of sessions.

The movie’s official website features a Zodiac timeline that is a thing of interactive beauty. You can also access amazing supplemental information about the art and science of profiling. (This isn’t a “fun” treatment of the subject though. The linguistic analysis section, for example, is quite sad.) From the main page, click “enter the site”. You will need a good connection, or the patience to wait for the videos to load.

It’s worth it.


8 Comments on “Macabre Media: Zodiac (2007)”

  1. eyeLaugh says:

    RDJ? I’m down! Sounds like a great movie

  2. wren08 says:

    I think I need to see this…

    • I suspect you’ll love it, Wren. It has been playing on IFC. Found this, over there 🙂

      Wednesday, Jan. 18 at 8:00 PM ET
      Thursday, Jan. 19 at 2:00 AM ET
      Thursday, Jan. 26 at 10:30 PM ET

      But I’m sure you can get it from Netflix.

  3. I love this movie! It is really well done! An excellent choice 🙂

  4. This film is amazing, I watch it all the time! I saw it at the theaters when it came out, and was so impressed, I didn’t even have to get up to go to the bathroom! Haha, glad you enjoyed it, great flick. Amazing acting, and I tend to subscribe to Graysmith’s theories. 🙂


Leave a comment