Caution: You are entering a temporarily abandoned blog.

Hi Folks. I suspect many of you have picked up on the fact that my life is changing dramatically, but I should have written a post about it more than a month ago. Apologies. (My mind is just completely overwhelmed these days.) Here’s the official announcement:

We are moving from Minnesota to North Carolina

at the beginning of April, 2016.

That’s 1,200 miles, give or take, and the logistics of the move are nightmarish. Consequently, I have to admit that I won’t be blogging until I can think about anything other than organization, transportation, and packing.

Long term readers will know that this has been our goal for the last four years. I can’t wait to get there, and I can’t wait until this part of the process is over!

Answers to questions you may have:

HOW?

1  The Ogre (my husband) asked for a transfer to a North Carolina branch of the company, but local management said no, they couldn’t do without him.

Instead, they made him the happiest techie-introvert on the planet… he’ll be keeping the job he has, but he’ll be doing it out of an office we’ll set up in our apartment. (He’s a software engineer, and his company employs a number of 100% telecommuters. In fact, he already works daily, via teleconferencing, with some folks who live in other states and work from home. He just didn’t realize he could be one of them.) Isn’t the modern world a magical place?

2  We are taking the dog and the cat with us. (And hasn’t that complicated our travel plans exponentially?) We are not, however, taking most of our furniture. We’ll be living like newlyweds / college kids for a while. (Won’t that be fun?) We want to take our time finding pieces to replace the stuff we don’t want to drag across country. (Plus, to be honest, this whole process is expensive! We’d rather live on folding chairs than go into debt to furnish a new place.)

3  We’re moving into a large three-bedroom apartment in a lovely complex. (We need that extra room for Ogre’s office.) On the property, there’s even a pool, a real fitness gym, and a dog run with agility obstacles. (Bonus: I’ll have my own washer and dryer again.)

WHY?

4  We are done with snow, and ice, and cold … and feeling like we age a few decades, and become shut-ins, for four or five months out of each year.

5  We’ll be joining our daughter (aka Pooka) and her beau, who have been living in NC for almost seven years. In fact, our new place is very close to theirs. Our 20 year old son is relocating with us. Our little family will be reunited.

WHAT NEXT?

6  The plan is to for Ogre and me to take at least a year to explore NC in a quest to find a town or neighborhood to settle in — one that we will love as much as we have loved White Bear Lake, MN. (Which would be perfect, if only it weren’t in MN and subject to so freakin’ much winter.)

7  Our son is leveling up to roommate status. He’ll continue to work and save money, and look into his college options, while he is establishing his residency for in-state tuition. He already has his AA Degree, so he’ll basically be a junior when he can go back to school in 2017. (Not too far off the planned trajectory, age-wise.)

8  Finally, I expect I’ll be clear-headed enough to start blogging and writing again by mid-May. Maybe sooner, if things go well. I miss it.

So. Did I forget anything? Ask anything you like in the comments … and wish me sanity and fine weather for the cross-country caravan trip that is coming.

We’re going home!

 

28 Comments on “Caution: You are entering a temporarily abandoned blog.”

  1. jmount43 says:

    I’ll be here when you decide to blog again, Renae; I’m sure other will be, also.

    • Thank you for you support, John. It’s been a while, but the plan is to get back up to speed now that my self-imposed deadline is at hand :).

      I am mostly settled in, so it’s time. Can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to as I go back to blog reading.

      • jmount43 says:

        Lots of posters, trailers, short films, trivia and of course a few Scream Queens here and there are what I have been up to. I’m happy that you’re back in the game, Renae!

  2. How exciting!!! We are looking at a similar situation in about five years… I HOPE! At which time I will be old enough to get my FULL retirement package from the place I’ve worked at since 1987. We’ll be heading, most likely, to Texas. All the best on your new adventures and blog when you can. We understand. I look forward to hearing all about the move and this next chapter in your life!

    • When you relocate to TX, SELL EVERYTHING! Or at least hire professionals to move all your stuff. 😀

      Thanks for the comment, back in February, at my blog. I’ll be getting back to reading and writing blogs over the next couple of weeks … as I recover from the nightmare that was moving across country 🙂

      (Ok. Don’t let me scare you, it wasn’t so bad. Though, now that I think about it, I think it’s a little like childbirth: The further away in time you get away from the actual experience, the less painful it seems in your memory.)

      • Jim moved from TX to here over three years ago and we did it in one small U-Haul trailer and his car, but he wasn’t moving 25 years worth of accumulated stuff either.

  3. Hunter Shea says:

    Congratulations on the move out of the snow! You’ll love NC. Most of my family is there or SC. My family and I are looking into doing something similar this summer. It’s all about enjoying the ride.

    • Are you really thinking of relocating? Where’s your potential destination? (And is Jack going too?)

      You’ll have to let us know when you visit your relatives, so we can do dinner, or a tap room, or a graveyard, or the Devil’s Tramping Ground, or something 😀

  4. maenad1021 says:

    Congratulations on your move! I enjoy your blog, and will be here when you return. Best of Luck to you on your relocation.

  5. You’ll love it! I’m west of Winston Salem and very at home, having grown up just south of Buffalo, then spent many years in south Florida. We do get snow and cold here, but nothing compared to north. Because we don’t have equipment to move or melt snow in outlying areas, we wait until it melts enough to drive. You’ll get a kick out of it when you see how everything stops for a couple inches of snow.

    • Well I’m here, and I don’t REALLY have an understanding of where Winston Salem is, but it’s definitely on the list of places to explore. (Ah, just checked. West of Raleigh by a good bit. Are you in mountains yet?)

      We are having trouble finding small TOWNS — you know, like places outside Raleigh that have a Main Street, a library, a historical society, an old graveyard, etc. So far we’ve only seen that kind of set up in a little place called Benson. (And I know there’s one called Beaufort, out near Atlantic Beach, because we went there when I vacationed in NC a couple of years ago.)

      Tell me, is there a secret to finding such places? We keep finding just more and more sprawl-i-ness as we circle out. The map says there’s a town, but then we find there isn’t really, just a wide spot in the road with franchised markets, fast food places, etc.

      Despite that little conundrum, we love it here so far. The people are wonderful. I’m getting used to being called Ma’am. The weather so far has been stunning. (I love the frequent little thunderstorms we’ve been having.) Mostly the cost of living seems lower than we’re used to, though I will say we had some sticker shock when we registered our vehicles.)

      There’s just so much to take in. It’s been, and continues to be, the biggest adventure of my life.

  6. zipcoffelt says:

    Renae – glad to see the reason why you stopped Blogging is to fulfill a dream. You are one of my favorite Bloggers! I moved from NJ to NE back in the 70’s, and as someone who has moved halfway across the country (with dogs and cats and a 2 year old) I totally understand what you’re going through. Best wishes for you in your new environs and here’s my selfish hope that you’ll be back Blogging soon.

    • We survived the migration, Sipora, but just barely. That was the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life so far … at least physically and mentally.

      It’s been good seeing you a bit over at the Parannomalist FB page, and I know you’ve gotten a few updates there. My plan is start things rolling again here in the next couple of weeks. I’d like to back to a semi-regular schedule by my birthday at the end of May. I’m looking forward to catching up on everyone’s doings too. My poor blog reader is SO neglected.

  7. macabreadore says:

    Can’t wait to officially welcome you to North Carolina! Just to give you something to look forward to…Radio DJ’s were making plans for having BBQ’s in their backyard because it’s going to be so lovely out this weekend. As someone who has lived in Michigan, Illinois and Ohio, I can tell you that you won’t want to move back north after you get here! 🙂

    • We’re living in North Carolina! Thank you for your unofficial welcome, back on that cold day in February. We’ve been here for a little over a month. We’re getting settled in, and I’ll be starting to read blogs, and write my own again, in the next couple of weeks.

      If you’re up for it, I’d love to ask you STUFF about the state. We do feel a bit at loose ends so far. (We can’t find any small towns, for example.)

      • macabreadore says:

        Ask away! I happen to live in a small town, but it’s surrounded by three small cities, so I get where you’re coming from. I have been here for 8 months now, and am still learning myself. But I’m happy to help with whatever I can!

  8. julial213 says:

    Sounds great. I’ve only been to Southport NC, but it was nice. My husband’s family hails from there on his father’s side. If we ever move we are also selling most of our furniture and starting over. That prospect looks slimmer than ever now though. Best wishes, sending wonderful thoughts to the universe for you.

    • Thanks for commenting on my blog entry back in February. I’ll be starting up with reading and writing blogs in the next couple of weeks. Can’t wait to see what everyone has been up to.

      I can’t say that the PROCESS of moving across country to NC was something I would recommend to anyone, but we are finally settling in to our new home state.

      We didn’t sell enough of our stuff, btw. If you ever do relocate, go absolutely bare bones. The transport was a nightmare.

      • julial213 says:

        Hi, My husband said we would sell most things even if just moving across town. Good luck catching up on reading. That in itself is a full time job.LOL.

  9. Diana says:

    So happy for you! I can’t wait to follow this next chapter of your journey.

    • Thank you Diana. And thank you SO much for chatting with me on that one dark and dreary night, when everything was coming together.

      I’ll be starting to read and write blogs in the next couple of weeks. I’m looking forward to seeing how your projects are coming along.

  10. I’m thrilled that you’re on the same journey as we embarked not too long ago and now we’ll  be in the same  state, no less! My husband is a software engineer as well and because  of weather and a few other reasons, chose NC!As you can see, I have also been absent from blogging because it takes a tremendous amount of effort moving out-of-state. I wish nothing but the very best on your new adventure! And who knows, we might be close enough to catch a cup if coffee sometime. Congrats!

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

    • I didn’t realize we we going to be in the same state, Debbie! Where are you? We are just east of Raleigh.

      You are SO right about the move taking a tremendous amount of effort … I think it damn near killed me.

      We should definitely chat about how it’s been for you since you arrived. I’m feeling fairly out of my depth. Happy, but way over my head. Getting your take on things would be awesome.

  11. Congratulations! A big move like that is exciting. I’ve done that enough times in my life to know. Good luck on your fresh new start.

    P.S.: You do not have to become a Panthers fan just ’cause you’re going to be living in that neck of the woods. 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment, left long ago, in February 😀 We have finally started to settle in in our new state. I’ll be reading and writing blogs again in the next couple of weeks. Can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to.

      BTW, I was already a Panthers fan. (They play with such joy compared to the Vikings.)

  12. Congratulations! I hope all is going well. I know this is a bit late, but I hope we’ll be hearing back from you soon (since it’s now officially mid-May… I think).

    • Yes, yes it is, isn’t it? Your comment is timely because I have been thinking Just pick a day and get started again! Perhaps there will be a Macabre & Mysterious Media soon. (‘Saw Bone Tomahawk recently and have things to say about that :))


Leave a Reply

