Boundaries: a chain link veil.

Maybe it’s the season, but the moment I saw this week’s photo post theme, I knew I wanted to take a shot of a fence around a cemetery. Halloween is, after all, when “the veil between the living and the dead” is at its thinnest.

boundaries

By the way, I went in search of the source of that phrase and couldn’t find it. I was expecting it to be attributed to a poet or a mystic, but it seems the concept is so old, and so widespread, that no one knows its origin. If any of you happen to know more about when and where the idea was born, please drop me a comment.

~***~

Find all my photographic projects at Haunting Photos (there’s also a link in the blog header.)

I'm part of Post A Week 2015

Click here to visit the Post a Week home.

Here are some of my favorite entries for boundaries  from others:

(I’ll add more as I have time to browse, so feel free to check back.)

kittensDusk, the Languorous BoundaryFences and Fear Makes Good Boundaries | Eiffel Tower | rock wall in the autumn woods |  On the Other SideAuschwitz Birkennau | especially the cemetery wall | 9 gorgeous shots | I don’t know what to call this – just click | storm | islet in a sea of clouds | narrow rock path into fog | Jack O’ Lantern guard? |  cannon | Autumn in South Korea | The Great Wall of China | black skimmers | chocolates | 3 boundaries in Cornwall | Venice | baby in a basket | gator boundary | in North Carolina | haiku | public nudity prohibited | sphynx cat | of the same mind | sun breaking through clouds | sun breaking through clouds too | sea, sky and sand … and a rainbow | framed flowers | a ha-ha ditch explained | windswept | child pondering fence | seasonal wall | especially the Sleepy Hollow cemetery shot | mirror | a wall for each vine! | sparklers | six word story | typewriter | of the same mind II |

11 Comments on “Boundaries: a chain link veil.”

  1. Thank you for including our post.

  2. Heather says:

    I just bounced through all the pictures. My mind is in delight with such beautiful photos and individual interpretations of boundaries. Great post 🙂

    • Oh, good! The whole set of theme responses is wonderful too, but it’s so overwhelming to face 500+ shots. There are some images I run across that I just have to share – sometimes because the quality strikes me, and sometimes because the shot just resonates with me personally. I know it’s an eclectic selection 🙂

  3. colonialist says:

    Searching for ‘beyond the veil’ would have provided some answers such as Oxford’s:

    ‘beyond the veil in the unknown state of being after death; the phrase is originally a figurative reference to the veil which in the Jewish Temple separated the main body of the Temple from the tabernacle, and derives particularly from Tyndale’s translation of the Bible.’

    I love the double-meaning you have given to ‘Boundaries’ in this picture!

  4. Thank you for including my challenge post at the Chocolate Counter in your list!

  5. bythebriny says:

    The sepia tone works well here.


Leave a Reply

