This Week in Macabre & Mysterious Media: May 18 – 24, 2015

Availability status updated Aug. 3rd, 2015

~YOUR MUSICAL INTERLUDE~

Another Tear Falls – Puddles (“The Sad Clown With The Golden Voice”)

My best advice this week: See Mad Max: Fury Road while it is available on the big screen!

movie poster mad max fury road

~THE MOVIES~

NEW ON NETFLIX & IN REDBOX:

Between (2015-) Netflix Original Series

Not Available on DVD from Netflix.
Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.
Children of the Corn meets Under the Dome? The preview looks like maybe it’s not just teen bait. I’m gonna give it a go.

UPDATE: I’ve caught one episode. So far, I’m at an orange level, because nothing turned me off. That said, I haven’t gone back yet to pick up where I left off, so it’s obviously not compelling to me. I think it’s worth another hour, though.
On IMDb here.

Woman In Black: Angel Of Death (2014) PG-13

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Not yet Available streaming on Netflix.
Available from Redbox.
The reviews aren’t good, but I may give it a shot. I do like a British ghost story.
On IMDb here.

The Taking of Deborah Logan (2014) R

Not yet Available on DVD from Netflix.
Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.
This isn’t new, and it isn’t leaving Netflix anytime soon, as far as I can tell, but I just got around to watching it. The trailer (below) doesn’t do it justice. I was impressed by the performances of Jill Larson (Deborah Logan) and Anne Ramsey (Sarah Logan, the daughter.) Larson, in particular is just chilling in this demanding role which required a fair bit of courage. I have to say the movie overall fell down for me in the last third, but it didn’t disintegrate entirely, so I can live with it. The ending suffers, though, in comparison to the deeply creepy first two-thirds of the film. Watching the first signs that something is not right with Deborah unfold was a riveting experience.
On IMDb here.

Silent House (2011) R

Available on DVD from Netflix.
No longer Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.
On IMDb here.

NO LONGER IN THEATERS:

Poltergeist (2015) PG-13

Not yet Available on DVD from Netflix.
Not yet Available streaming on Netflix.
Not yet Available from Redbox.
Yeah. I’ll probably go. I can see how the story could be served by an update. I hope they tone down some of the special effects and concentrate more on the creepy factor.
On IMDb here.

COMING TO THEATERS:

This next one isn’t coming until October, but I just saw the first trailer and I had to share. I’m excited!

Crimson Peak (2015) R

general release in OCTOBER

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Not yet Available streaming on Netflix.
Available from Redbox.
Director:  Guillermo del Toro Starring: Tom Hiddleston, Jessica Chastain
SQUEE!
On IMDb here.

~***~

RECENTLY FEATURED ON MACABRE & MYSTERIOUS MEDIA

 

The color of the title in all M&M Media posts is keyed as follows:
Black = Have not yet experienced. I’m interested … or I think you’ll be interested.
Red = Have experienced. Not recommended. Worse than the reviews or buzz indicated.
Orange = Have experienced. Recommended, with reservations or cautions.
Green = Have experienced. Recommended. Good (or great) work that lives up to its potential.

Updated 2016.06.03

4 Comments on “This Week in Macabre & Mysterious Media: May 18 – 24, 2015”

  1. Nice list. I love movies. I’ll pass this on to the Horror Club (teen movie buffs.) One of the brilliant young men in my daughter’s circle wants to make movies when he grows up. He will love this list.

    You must see the new Indie film Slow West. This isn’t a creepy movie, just a unique story that takes place in the late 1860’s West. It is like a cross between Wes Anderson and Sam Peckinpah. Something unexpected and wonderful. The historic details are right on target.

  2. I’m looking forward to Crimson Peak. I’ll only Poltergeist if you say it’s worth it. Do love Sam Rockwell, but remakes rarely hit the mark. I do hear good things about Mad Max. I loved the original. And I have to agree with Ogre. Avengers/Ultron was pretty darn good.


Leave a Reply

