This Week in Macabre & Mysterious Media: May 4 -10, 2015

Availability status updated Aug. 3rd, 2015

~YOUR MUSICAL INTERLUDE~

Buckle up, Folks…

Nekromantix – Gargoyles Over Copenhagen

~A BOOK~

You know I don’t feature many books here, in my Macabre & Mysterious Media posts, (which is CRAZY, I know, all things considered) but occasionally something new comes along that I just have to share. Recently I had a chance to read an advance copy of The Bear Who Wouldn’t Leave, by J.H. Moncrieff, and I loved it.

There’s even a spiffy book trailer:

This novella becomes available on Tuesday, May 5th, for just $2.66.

Support this debut author by grabbing a copy HERE.

You’ll want to have read it by the time June rolls around, because … (I’m excited to announce) … I’ll be interviewing J.H. Moncrieff on Skype at the end of May!

We’ve been in contact for the last month or so, working out the details of our plan. We still need to nail down a firm date and time for the conversation and decide what specific cocktail we’ll be sampling together. FYI, we have agreed the concoction we settle on must 1) be something that neither of us has every tried 2) include Malibu rum, and 3) have a spooky name.

I’ll be creating one or more videos from the raw footage, and will post the end product(s) in early to mid June. Of course we’ll be discussing The Bear Who Wouldn’t Leave, and there might be spoilers in the video(s). (Especially if we choose to indulge in strong cocktails.)

~THE MOVIES~

NEW ON NETFLIX & IN REDBOX:

It’s a quiet week on Netflix except for this:

Grace & Frankie (2015) TV SERIES

Not Available on DVD from Netflix.
Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.

Lily Tomlin, Jane Fonda, Martin Sheen, Sam Waterson

Not even a tinge of spooky here, but I’m really looking forward to this cast! It’s going to be a perfect binge on a rainy weekend. Update: On first viewing, I thought it was too on the nose and over the top, but Ogre fell asleep while we were watching the second episode, so I had re-watched it last night. It was better. Perhaps because I’m already invested in the happiness of the characters? 

On IMDb here.

Also, my favorite Angry Scholar has led me to something I missed:

The Road (2011) R

Not Available on DVD from Netflix.
Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.

On IMDb here.

Warning: this is hard to find on Netflix, because of the OTHER movie titled The Road (2009). (You know, the deeply depressing one, based on the Cormac McCarthy novel.) Scholar mentioned THIS movie in his recent post:

 Smart, Beautiful, Horrible: Horror’s Thoughtful (and Funny) Filmmakers

…where he also recommended Starry Eyes (2014) which I featured last week. (I’m going to have watch that one, despite my reservations.)

NO LONGER IN THEATERS:

Maggie (2015) R

Opening Friday the 8th, though it may not be in wide release yet.

(I can’t find it playing near me this coming weekend, though a couple of theaters say it’s “coming soon.”)

Another zombie movie, this one starring Arnold Schwarzenegger. WAIT! Don’t just skip along. I’m hearing really good things about this one.

(I’ll probably share it again, when I believe it’s ACTUALLY going to be available to a lot of us.)

On IMDb here.

~ON TV~

Nothing exciting on TV this week, except for that Grace & Frankie show, which is really a Netflix thing.

~***~

INDEX TO ALL MACABRE & MYSTERIOUS MEDIA FEATURES HERE

The color of the title is keyed as follows:
Black = Have not yet experienced. I’m interested … or I think you’ll be interested.
Red = Have experienced. Not recommended. Worse than the reviews or buzz indicated.
Orange = Have experienced. Recommended, with reservations or cautions.
Green = Have experienced. Recommended. A good movie that lives up to its reputation.
3 Comments on “This Week in Macabre & Mysterious Media: May 4 -10, 2015”

  1. jmh says:

    Thanks so much for the kind words, Renae! I’m so glad you enjoyed the book, and I’m really looking forward to our interview.


Leave a Reply

