This Week in Macabre & Mysterious Media: April 13 – 19, 2015

Availability status updated Aug. 3rd. 2015.

~YOUR MUSICAL INTERLUDE~

The Flight – Dark Corners
Not sure about the music itself, but I love the video.

If you only watch, play, or read one thing from this list, it should be:

movie poster housebound

Housebound (2014) on Netflix streaming. (See below.)

~THE MOVIES~

ON NETFLIX & IN REDBOX:

The Babadook (2014) NR

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Available streaming on Netflix.
Available from Redbox.
I could not get to this when it was in the theaters, so I’m excited to watch it this month.
UPDATE: I finally got around to watching this and I wish I hadn’t wasted the time. I was very excited about it, because I loved the short film, Monster, which it was based on. I’ve embedded the original short film below the trailer video. My advice is to save yourself 80 minutes, and watch the better version of the story.
On IMDb here.

Monster – Jennifer Kent from Jennifer Kent on Vimeo.

Housebound (2014) NR

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.
This one is fantastic! I retroactively added it to last week’s M&M Media post, because I found it late in the week, but I want to mention here too. I loved this movie, especially the first two-thirds of it. It’s funny, and smart, and it has some pretty good scares.
On IMDb here.

Marvel’s Daredevil (2015) 

Two full seasons of this Netflix original are available now.
I’m hearing this is darker and gritter and all-around better than the 2003 movie. The previews look intriguing. Ogre and I will be giving this a go this week. UPDATE: We caught the 1st episode this weekend and it looks pretty good so far. Second UPDATE: we say the whole season and really loved it. Darker than we expected but compelling. With this update, I’m improving the rating from orange to green.
On IMDb here.

Practical Magic (1998) PG-13

Available on DVD from Netflix.
No longer Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.
It’s April. There’s gotta be a rainy afternoon or evening that lends itself to watching this charmer.
On IMDb here.

Killer Legends (2014) NR

Available on Netflix streaming.
A documentary about the true stories that may have inspired urban legends, by the director of Cropsey (2009).
This is dark stuff folks. I haven’t watched the whole thing but I can tell you the crime scene photographs, which feature prominently, are tough to take. It’s different when it’s real, you know. [UPDATE] I have now see it all and thought it was worth the watch. A couple of the four segments are better than the others, but a decent show overall.
On IMDb here.

Speaking of Cropsey, it is also available on Netflix streaming right now:

Cropsey (2009) NR

On IMDb here.

NO LONGER IN THEATERS:

Child 44 (2015) R

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Not yet Available streaming on Netflix.
Available from Redbox.
We saw the trailer for this at the theater, and it looks great. The movie is based on a book by British thriller writer, Tom Rob Smith, which is based on the crimes of Soviet serial killer, Andrei Chikatilo, aka the Butcher of Rostov. UPDATE: The critics aren’t giving this much love, which shocks me a little, because both Ogre and I though it was amazing. We DEEPLY cared about the characters involved. The relationship between the two main characters is complex and real. I guess the Russian accents are terrible. This is not something we noticed because we watched it with the subtitles as if it was in a launguage we didn’t speak.  on and just let the Russian-sounding words wash over us. (Couldn’t make out the dialog otherwise.) Maybe that’s why we liked it so much … we were concentrating on the actual acting, rather that the sound of the words.
On IMDb here.

Monsters: The Dark Continent (2014) R

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.
I mentioned the movie that came before this, Monsters, last week. Since then I’ve head more good things about it, but I haven’t queued it up yet. I’m thinking I should.
On IMDb here.

Woman in Gold (2015) PG-13

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Not yet Available streaming on Netflix.
Available from Redbox.
On IMDb here.
Not paranormal at all. ‘Just mentioning it because Ogre and I saw it over the weekend. Interesting story, but the movie-making is nothing special. I think a lot of the latest true-life / historical films have been that way. The source material is compelling, yet the cinematography, writing, acting, etc. feel serviceable but bland. (The Monuments Men (2014) and Unbroken (2014) are other examples that comes to mind.) I didn’t dislike this movie. My eyes did fill with tears a couple of times, and I gasped in outrage at one particular revelation. Still, I think that’s a function of the story itself rather the way it was presented to me. If you want something similar but better, try Philomena (2013.) (Currently available in Redbox and on Netflix disc.)

~***~

INDEX TO ALL MACABRE & MYSTERIOUS MEDIA FEATURES HERE

NOTE: The color of the title is keyed as follows:
Black = Not yet watched. I’m interested … or I think you’ll be interested.
Red = Watched. Not recommended. Worse than the reviews or buzz indicated.
Orange = Watched. Recommended, with reservations or cautions.
Green = Watched. Recommended. A good movie that lives up to its reputation.
10 Comments on “This Week in Macabre & Mysterious Media: April 13 – 19, 2015”

  1. The book for Practical Magic was much better than the film, as usual. I do want to see Woman in Gold even though the reviews are not good.

    • I agree about the book. (One little detail was especially telling to me: In the movie, for the wild growth, the bush was roses while in the book it was lilacs blooming out of season. The lilacs were so much more evocative and “real” to me.)

      Woman is Gold is well worth a watch, and I did love the story. There’s just something I can’t quite put my finger on missing in these latest history-based films.

  2. scoobyclue says:

    Also …. you are the seond to recommend housebound … so I am in … Have you ever seen Tucker and Dale vs Evil?

  3. Pooka says:

    Four episodes in to Daredevil. Very pleased so far. I’ve liked Daredevil for a long time, and it’s heartening to see an updated treatment.

    • Oh, that’s good to hear. I like Daredevil too … in fact I didn’t mind the movie, though it could have certainly benefited from a little more grit and angst 🙂

      • Pooka says:

        I enjoyed the movie too. I own it. It was just made back when comic book movies were decidedly a different “thing” than now. Look at the 80s/90s Batmans and Supermans, the early 00’s Spider-Man. It’s in that category. I think there was a shift in the genre once the heavy hitters of Batman Begins and Iron Man rumbled in.


Leave a Reply

