This Week in Macabre & Mysterious Media: April 6 – 12, 2015

Availability status updated on Aug 3, 2015.

~YOUR MUSICAL AUDITORY INTERLUDE~

Deathly Spirits: A Ghost Story (and cocktail recipe) from Ted Raimi

A huge thanks to my daughter, Pooka, for finding this and sharing it with me.

If you only watch, play, or read one thing from this list, it should be:

movie poster whiplash

[EDIT] Now that I’ve found and added the sneak peek video for the 8th season of Ancient Aliens, though, I’ve got to say the TRAILER (at the very least) is not to be missed.

(See below.)

~THE MOVIES~

NEW ON NETFLIX & IN REDBOX:

Nothing exciting in the releases this week, but The Babadook is coming next week! Wait, here’s something: A movie called Monsters: Dark Continent will be coming to theaters soon. I’ll share that next week. Right now, you might want to check out its forerunner. (What’s the the correct name for a movie that spawns a sequel?)

Monsters (2010) R

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.
This film has surprisingly good reviews. Not sure how I missed it entirely back in 2010.
On IMDb here.

Whiplash (2014) R

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Not yet Available streaming on Netflix.
Available from Redbox.
I forgot to mention Whiplash last week. It’s not horror, of course, but it’s definitely intense and suspenseful. And weirdly inspiring for artist types.
On IMDb here.

Housebound (2014) NR

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.
O.M.G. This one is fantastic. I’m not even done watching it yet, but I had to pause it so I could come here and add it to the list. Because I missed it on Monday this week, I’ll feature it next week too.
On IMDb here.

NO LONGER IN THEATERS:

Ex machina (2015) R

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Not yet Available streaming on Netflix.
Available from Redbox.
UPDATE: It took me a couple of weeks after posting this entry to get to this one, but it was one of the best movies I saw in the month of April. This is scifi with a generous dollop of straight-up horror that takes over the middle of the film … in a good way. I have an issue with A.I. that goes all the way back to A.I. (2001) and this movie did not soothe me at all. There is just no good reason to be pursuing such technology. Decent acting. Interesting visuals. A head full of thoughts when you leave the theater. All in all, a good entertainment value.
On IMDb here.

~ON TV~

Ancient Aliens | HISTORY (not H2) | Fridays | 9/8c

(Eighth season begins April 10th.)
I cannot wait! This is my favorite sleep aid of them all.
Webpage here.

CANCELLED: The Returned | A&E | Mondays | 10/9c 

(First season complete; there will be no second season … on A&E)
I’m catching up with this series this week. I missed it when it came out, but luckily all the episodes are available On Demand through my cable provider. To be honest, I had it confused with ABC’s Resurrection, which I tried and abandoned last year. This show has nothing to do with that. It is an American version of a French television series which began in 2012 and went on to win an International Emmy for Best Drama Series in 2013. I’m three episodes in, and I’m liking it so far. If you have the opportunity to see it from the beginning, give it a shot. This one might have some legs.
On IMDb here.

BUT THERE’S AN UPDATE, OF A SORT: I didn’t go back for it after I wrote the above piece, and now I’ve learned that A&E has decided not to do a second season. That’s the bad news. The good news is that French version has become available on Netflix streaming. So let’s try that again, shall we?

The Returned / Les revenants – FRENCH TV SERIES (subtitled)

Available on DVD from Netflix.
Available streaming on Netflix.
Not Available from Redbox.
On IMDb here.

The Lizzy Bordon Chronicles | Lifetime | Sundays | 9/10c

(First season complete; there will be no second season. Not yet on Netflix.)
Sorry I missed this, Guys. I’m not a Lifetime watcher, but I’m thinking of giving this one a go, because I love Christina Ricci.
EDIT: Ok, I’ve given it about 15 minutes. So far I see two characters that I could maybe love, existing in a show that might be too chaotic and experimental for my tastes.
On IMDb here.

The first full episode is available online right now, at Lifetime.
The movie that came first is available on Netflix streaming now too.

~***~

INDEX TO ALL MACABRE & MYSTERIOUS MEDIA FEATURES HERE

The color of each title is keyed as follows:
Black = Not yet watched. I’m interested … or I think you’ll be interested.
Red = Watched. Not recommended. Worse than the reviews or buzz indicated.
Orange = Watched. Recommended, with reservations or cautions.
Green = Watched. Recommended. A good movie that lives up to its reputation.

7 Comments on “This Week in Macabre & Mysterious Media: April 6 – 12, 2015”

  1. You want creepy? Watch Going Clear: The Prison of Belief. It’s an HBO doc on Scientology. Oh, the horror stories.

    • I almost included Going Clear, Sheila! I caught it the other night and found it INCREDIBLY creepy. I just haven’t decided yet if I’m going to include shows that are only available on the pay channels, like HBO and Showtime … they aren’t good about releasing their stuff to Netflix.

      I just watched another HBO exclusive called “Something is Wrong with Aunt Diane.” I can’t get that one out of my head either. I actually wrote a whole blog about it, but haven’t posted it because the only way to see it is to have HBO.

  2. HBO is available on line for a $10 dollar per month subscription fee. Showtime is fairly generous about releasing their content on internet media outlets. Amazon Prime Instant Video also offers programming on a pay-per-view basis. I hate Comcast so I refuse to subscribe. If there’s a show you really must see it’s Penny Dreadful which is on Amazon at $1.99 SD, $2.99 HD (there is also a lot of no charge content). Those are Prime member prices so they may be more if you’re not. Prime subscriptions are $100 per year. I shop on Amazon a lot and the free 3rd day delivery pays for the price of the subscription.

    • I didn’t realize it was a stand-alone $10 … I guess I thought it was in addition to the cable subscription or something. Truthfully, I know Ogre and I need to sort through our options, because we pay too much for TV. I suspect some cleverness, involving things like PRIME and some kind of box for the television, needs to get done. We’ve been lazy.

      When I was in NC last summer to visit my daughter, I saw most of the first season of Penny Dreadful and I LOVED it.

  3. Reblogged this on West Coast Review and commented:
    Fun stuff!

  4. Whiplash is the best movie I’ve seen in several years. And Going Clear was worse than creepy – it was mind bending. My soul was injured. I felt dirty.

    • We saw Whiplash in the theater and the crowd was just silent … in a good way Everyone was so engaged. I had a similar sense of engagement for Nightcrawler.

      I couldn’t manage Going Clear in one sitting. It still doesn’t seem possible to me that the organization can be the way it’s depicted. I can’t understand how a person gets to a place where that sort of life can be considered acceptable. Except … I’m kind of lying. I can see how it appeals to intelligent, creative people, at least in the earlier levels.

      I want to believe I’d flip out at some point and walk away, but you would be so invested by then.

      Yeah. Dirty.


Leave a Reply

