Macabre Media: Exiles (a song by Mary Fahl, inspired by Anne Rice’s new book) plus Honeymoon (2014).

NOW:

All the latest buzz surrounding Anne Rice has been about how Universal has optioned all of the works in the Vampire Chronicles. (I am excited about that. Tom Cruise never really did it for me.)

Has anyone gone after the new Anne Rice series, The Wolf Gift Chronicles? I haven’t yet.  I’m reading mixed reviews. When it comes to Anne Rice, I know that I adored The Mayfair Witches series, and to a slightly lesser extent, The Vampire Chronicles.  (In my opinion, the first 3 books are the best here. Also, don’t forget there’s a crossover book called, Blackwood Farm, in which the vampires and witches intertwine.)

I tried some other stuff, but she leaves me flat when she’s not writing about the paranormal. (I wanted so badly to like Cry to Heaven – a historical novel about castrati in 18th century Italy – but I didn’t really enjoy it after a while — I kept waiting for a vampire to show up.)

Anyway, I just ran across this video of a song called Exiles: The Wolves of Midwinter by Mary Fahl. Apparently it was inspired by Wolf Gift Chronicles.

I’m not sure if I love the vocal stylings here, but I do think the lyrics and drum line are evocative.

& LATER

I’m looking forward to this:

movie poster honeymoon 2014

From IMDb: Honeymoon (2014)

Young newlyweds struggle as their honeymoon spirals mysteriously into chaos.

But do watch the trailer … it looks better than that makes it sound.

  • Starring: Rose Leslie, Harry Treadaway, Ben Huber
  • Directed by: Leigh Janiak
  • Rated: R
  • Theatrical release date: September 12, 2014

I’ll give folks a heads-up on twitter / FB / Goggle+ a little closer to the release date.

One Comment on “Macabre Media: Exiles (a song by Mary Fahl, inspired by Anne Rice’s new book) plus Honeymoon (2014).”


Leave a Reply

