Halloween Countdown: all about graveyards.

halloween countdown 11 final

Today, August 15th, is just 11 Fridays before Halloween.

Show your love of Halloween and drive your friends crazy by sharing the above image on your social media sites this week.

I’m heading out the door in a few minutes to have an adventure. My Ogre has the day off, and the weather is glorious — it’s a perfect summer day. Part of the reason for these early countdown posts is to remind us to really enjoy these remaining weeks of summer before autumn arrives. I’m not yet sure what we’ll do, but it’s likely I’ll spot an old graveyard on the side of some road and my beloved will indulge me while I explore. In the next day or two, I also need to find a local grave to adopt for the season.

Now is the perfect time to seek out lovely old cemeteries. Those that are well-treed are shady, cool and peaceful. When you head out, remember to take along some bug spray, though … mosquitoes do love to hang out there too.

Visit Graveyards, churchyards and cemeteries ~ spending an afternoon with the dead

for more tips and ideas for what to do when you find a pretty or interesting graveyard.

*****

To see  my overall plans for the 2014 season,

please visit The Halloween Countdown Homepage,

which is also freshly updated.

halloween countdown main fridays

To access the Halloween Countdown homepage / index of articles, click this image wherever you see it in the blog, or find the link in the header of the blog.

7 Comments on “Halloween Countdown: all about graveyards.”

  1. I am so looking forward to your Halloween Countdown! Fun fun fun!

    From my neck of the woods…

    I have to share a post from 2012 of one of my favorite graveyards! The Old City Cemetery in Sacramento, CA.
    http://vampiremaman.com/2012/10/22/finding-beauty-in-the-old-city-cemetery-sacramento-california/

    There are several other smaller and beautiful old graveyards I need to visit soon to share in time for Halloween. Most are California Gold Rush era places near where I live – small but full of interesting stories and ghosts. It always makes me sad to see so many graves of children and young people in these places. Dashed hopes and small ghosts.

    The old Sacramento Cemetery has Halloween Ghost Tours. They book up early. I’m sure other cities have events like that. Of course in Southern California all the big Hollywood area cemeteries have HUGE events and all sorts of tours (I sometimes wonder about those – the creepy stalker factor is sort of icky.) And the city of Colma near San Francisco is almost nothing but graveyards (the old graves in San Francisco were dug up and all moved there.) There is even a graveyard that is populated by nothing but circus performers! I know there are a lot of great Bay Area tours of spooky places.

    • I finally got a chance to go enjoy the post you linked to here. I was going to leave a comment there, but – though I could “like” and see other comments – I couldn’t find a box to type in. A glitch, I suppose.

      The photographs are just gorgeous. One shot in particular (the tall monument, inscribed Joseph Green, perfectly framed) just went right through me.

      Thanks so much for sharing!

      • I’ll need to change my settings for comments on older posts (had a problem with creepers a while back.) I love the Joseph Green monument too. I have no idea who he was. I did a little bit of research and didn’t get too far but I’ll have to do more. I’ll keep you posted. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. It is a beautiful place.

  2. Reblogged this on West Coast Review and commented:
    Halloween! You gotta love it. I can’t wait. From one of my favorite bloggers Renae Rude – The Paranormalist!

  3. Jessie says:

    There is nothing more scary than graveyards during Halloween. I can feel the momentum growing as I browse the net. 2014 Halloween discussions are already getting my heart beating and watching what’s behind me. LOL


Leave a Reply

