Clever Crow is clever.

Embed from Getty Images

#132073051 / gettyimages.com

I stepped out into the parking lot of the #paranormalhotel today, to have a break. I spotted a take-out container (of black Styrofoam) that someone had discarded. Just as I took a step in that direction so I could pick it up and throw it away, a large crow landed next to it.

I’m pretty sure he knew it was a potential food source before he even landed because he wasted no time in figuring out how to get it open.

He picked it up and dropped it several times until it unlatched. Once it was open, he didn’t seem to want to eat from the container, so he picked it up again and dumped its contents onto the ground, then – with a quick, strong, twist of his head – he threw the empty box off to the side.

I believe his reward was a chicken finger and some fries.

I’m sorry the photos below are blurry, but I was just snapping pics from a distance with my cell. Still, it was the highlight of my day and I wanted to share.

I thought Mark Petruska, in particular, might appreciate it 😀

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PS: My emergency, way-too-many-hours, stint at the hotel concluded today. I’m sorry I’ve been so absent lately — I’ve just been really, really tired and busy. In other news,

MY SON’S GRADUATION CEREMONY

(for his AA degree AND his high school diploma)

HAPPENS TOMORROW NIGHT!!!

I can’t believe we really did it.

I’ll be around more in coming days, and I’m looking forward to catching up with you all. Now I’m off to bed.

 

10 Comments on “Clever Crow is clever.”

  1. zipcoffelt says:

    Congrats to you and your son on this achievement! Love the crow photos. Here we see black birds and crows dining in or along the roads on something better left unmentioned all the time. They do a great job of cleaning up…

  2. I just rolled my eyes when I saw the title to this post. But I will admit, crows are smart. There’s no denying that.

    Congraduations to your son!

  3. A Duet says:

    Clever crow is indeed clever!

    Congrats on all the good news, and getting to take it easy for a spell, hopefully.

    • Thanks, Anna. I took a pretty major spill down the hill out back (thanks to my doofy dog) so now I’ve GOT to take it easy for a few days. It’s pleasant enough today, while a nice summer storm rumbles outside, but we’ll see how I feel about it when the sun comes out tomorrow 🙂

  4. Hunter Shea says:

    Ever since the movie with Brandon Lee, I look at crows very differently. 🙂


Leave a Reply

