‘NetNet: 10 true ghost stories, carnivorous goats, cracked.com, a mechanical cat-beast, elves, Joan Fontaine, Bigfoot.

For the past two weeks, the internet has been obsessed with Christmas. That’s cool. Still, I’m afraid #NetNet is a little on the light side this week.

Hey, side-note, is anyone else having a lot of trouble with images being squished when you post them? It’s driving me crazy. It feels like I’m not doing anything different than I used to, yet half my pics, half the time, are all distorted. Of course there doesn’t seem to be any predictable pattern to it.

*****

ENJOY TEN POSTS ABOUT TRUE HAUNTINGS

You all seem to like it when I find true ghost stories as I’m rambling about the net, so this should make you happy. Christy, over at Ghosts and Ghouls, has collected her top ten most viewed posts about true hauntings for our enjoyment. Read: Top 10 Ghost Posts of 2013

ghost_girl

*****

GET EATEN BY GOATS

The following image says it all 🙂

GoatContest2

Get details on the offer at his blogspot blog, The Haunted Computer or at his home page.

Scott may be one of the most prolific authors working in the horror field today. Personally, I’ve read The Red Church & The Manor – both of which were great. I’ve got a lot of catching up to do though. Take a look at his NINE pages of offerings over at Amazon.

*****

SEE WHY I LOVE CRACKED.COM (THE ‘WEIRD WORLD’ SECTION IN PARTICULAR)

Cracked.com is one of my guilty pleasures because of stuff like this: 7 News Stories That Are Clearly Just Horror Movie Premises.

royalty portrait

*****

READ THE TALE OF A HORROR AUTHOR’S ENCOUNTER WITH A CHRISTMAS BEAST

I absolutely love that Johnathan Janz, author of some of my favorite, genuinely disturbing horror novels, can make me laugh hard enough that I snort soda out my nose. Go read Measure Never, Cut Once (or The Beast under the Tree) But put down your coffee or pop first.

jonathans kitty

*****

IF YOU ARE AN ELF ON THE SHELF SKEPTIC, CONSIDER THESE

THE SWEET: Ray Yanek is back in the collection for the second installment in a row with his piece, A Christmas From My Son. It’s really lovely, especially if there’s any part of you that knows (or worries) childhood is too fleeting.

rays elf

THE NOT-SO-SWEET: Hunter Shea’s elf appears to be a bad influence. I stole this pic from his Facebook page. There are more.

hunters elf

(Wait, is this like the Vegas thing? What happens in Facebook stays in Facebook?)

*****

REMEMBER JOAN FONTAINE

Mrs. Horror Boom made a really nice tribute to the late, great Joan Fontaine, star of Rebecca. Go pay your respects.

joan fontaine

*****

GET THE OVERVIEW OF BIGFOOT STORIES FROM 2013

bigfoot

Over at HuffPost, the editors have gathered the year’s Sasquatch news into one article called 2013: A Big Year For Bigfoot

*****

There is no way I’m going to capture every great thing that happens in my personal web, let alone on the wider internet. The posts I feature here just happened to catch my eye. They resonated with me and whatever is going on in my life right now. And they are worth sharing.

‘NetNet

#NetNet

*****

8 Comments on “‘NetNet: 10 true ghost stories, carnivorous goats, cracked.com, a mechanical cat-beast, elves, Joan Fontaine, Bigfoot.”

  1. love Hunter Shea’s christmas party!

  2. A Duet says:

    I’m always torn about visiting ghost story sites. While on one hand, I love reading them, on the other, I’ve been deceived in the past into visiting pages with moving images and pop up sounds that are just not fair.
    Glad to see a master list of good material that doesn’t feel the need to make me jump with cheap scares!

  3. Hunter Shea says:

    Thank you for the year in Bigfoot link! Can’t believe I had missed it.

  4. It warmed my heart to read the Elf on a Shelf story. My 8 -year-old, on the other hand, had great anxiety about her elf. Maybe that’s a blog post I need to write!


Leave a Reply

