‘NetNet: Wednesday Addams, 911, painting with light, 1″ buttons, an abandoned asylum & a not-so-abandoned mansion.

I’ve spent a fair bit of time this week tweaking my existing Twitter lists and adding a few new feeds. (If you regularly read this blog, and we aren’t yet hooked up via Twitter, drop your handle in the comments. Mine is @RRudeParanormal.) Paying more attention to Twitter led me further into the wilds of the internet than usual, and I found some cool stuff. There’s still a little of this long weekend left, and here are my suggestions for a few more things to do before the hustle and bustle of next week begins.

CHECK IN WITH A CHILDHOOD FRIEND

Over at YouTube, Melissa Hunter is creating a series she calls ‘Adult Wednesday Addams’. This is episode one:

Link to all 7 available episodes.

*****

CONSIDER TAKING IN SOME SLOW NEWS

Narratively slows down the news cycle. We avoid the breaking news and the next big headline, instead focusing exclusively on untold, human-interest stories—the rich, intricate narratives that get at the heart of what a place and its people are all about.

Each week, we explore a different theme and publish a series of stories—just one a day—told in the most appropriate medium for each piece…

Narratively dedicated the week of Halloween (2013) to ghost stories, including these:

The Secret Life of a Ghost Hunter by Lenora Desar
Matron of Morbidity by Ella Rubeli and Joel Tozer
Living With the Dead by Jessica Bal
Phantoms of  the Hamptons by Kelly Ann Smith

My favorite, though, was Up in the Old Asylum by Julia Wertz – “As preservationists fight to save a pair of psychiatric hospitals from demolition, a photographer explores their decaying beauty and the century-old tales hidden within.”

asylum abandoned

Scroll this page to see what other weekly topics have been covered.

*****

MARVEL AT LIGHT PAINTINGS

Artist Darren Pearson is painting with light over at Darius Twin. Here’s an example of his work, but there’s a whole gallery at the link.

thegraveescape

... AND MAYBE TRY YOUR HAND AT IT YOURSELF

More information can be found here.

*****

VISIT A SECRET GARDEN

Two people went for a drive in the country and noticed an old building in a field. They opted to explore the area and found a wonderland. the first video, below, is the footage from the day of discovery, while the second gives more information about the site.


*****

GET A GLIMPSE OF WHAT IT’S LIKE TO BE A 911 OPERATOR DURING THE HOLIDAYS

answering-911

My friend, Caroline Burau (author of Answering 911: Life in the Hotseat,) lists 10 types of calls here: Ten THE HOLIDAY CALLS!

*****

ORDER SOME STOCKING STUFFERS FROM MY KID

Pooka tells me there’s still time to order button pins or magnets (and/or magnet necklaces) for Christmas. She figures that anything ordered before Dec. 16th will arrive on time (as long as it’s shipped to an address within the US. International orders are riskier.)

I made a video back in September, to demonstrate how the necklace works and reveal a few of my favorite designs, including several Halloween-themed buttons. If you missed it, feel free to have a look.

She will still honor the 5 button magnets + logo magnet + necklace  for $20 deal here.

Remember, too, that each design can be ordered individually as a pinback ($1.25) for wearing, or as a magnet ($1.75) for the necklace OR for fridges and lockers and such. Here’s some of her newer designs:

To browse ALL of her designs, visit PookCreations.Etsy.com

*****

There is no way I’m going to capture every great thing that happens in my personal web, let alone on the wider internet. The posts I feature here just happened to catch my eye. They resonated with me and whatever is going on in my life right now. And they are worth sharing.

‘NetNet

#NetNet

*****

6 Comments on “‘NetNet: Wednesday Addams, 911, painting with light, 1″ buttons, an abandoned asylum & a not-so-abandoned mansion.”

  1. Melanie says:

    Thanks for turning me on to Narratively! How did I not know about this site?! Just spent an hour over there reading and love it.

    • It’s a new find for me too. It’s strange to deliberately settle into a story that is going to take more than a minute to read while I’m online. I need to do more of that, I think.

      By the way, I left a message on something you posted on FB a while back. I was wondering if there’s something wrong with my blog reader. I don’t think I’ve seen anything come through from Is This the Middle for a long time. Are you not writing much? And there was a blog by a woman who was writing about keeping chickens … Home Reared Chef, I think. When I try to go to her blog, it appears to be gone. Did she move somewhere else?

  2. I enjoyed the light paintings 🙂

  3. Pooka says:

    Okay, Adult Wednesday Addams is brilliant.


Leave a Reply

