Collaborating with a 4-year Old

Oh this is just too cool. I can’t believe how much I love the finished products of this collaborative team.

busy mockingbird

IMG_5499

One day, while my daughter was happily distracted in her own marker drawings, I decided to risk pulling out a new sketchbook I had special ordered.  It had dark paper, and was perfect for adding highlights to.  I had only drawn a little in it, and was anxious to try it again, but knowing our daughter’s love of art supplies, it meant that if I wasn’t sly enough, I might have to share.  (Note:  I’m all about kid’s crafts, but when it comes to my own art projects, I don’t like to share.)  Since she was engrossed in her own project, I thought I might be able to pull it off.

Ahhh, I should’ve known better.  No longer had I drawn my first face (I love drawing from old black & white movie stills) had she swooped over to me with an intense look.  “OOOH!  Is that a NEW…

View original post 904 more words

13 Comments on “Collaborating with a 4-year Old”

  1. Juliette says:

    I loved this post the first time around. Thanks for reblogging so I could see it again!

    • Damn. I saw it at your place? Should have reblogged it from there. using a reader catches me up some times, when I’m in a hurry. I must have popped open the link from you, then glanced up to see the reblog link at the busy mockingbird.

      What IS the standard etiquette on reblogging reblogs anyway?

      • Juliette says:

        It wasn’t one one of my blogs. I saw it on Freshly Pressed but I’m so glad YOU shared it again. I lost track of it. 🙂

        I figure the standard for reblogging on WordPress is that if they have the WordPress reblog share button then it is ok if you say a few nice words and tell everyone how wonderful it is (and we always reblog wonderful stuff like this). Some bloggers get all uptight about reblogging but they are few and far between.

  2. I think those pics are a great collaboration – something a mother and child can be proud of. Thanks for posting.

  3. angryscholar says:

    Very cool. Also, that blogger could really teach me a few things about getting comments. Yikes.

  4. Patrick says:

    Thank you for sharing this! Just sent it to all my art teacher friends. 🙂

  5. Patrick says:

    And I forgot to check the “notify me” box so this comment is just for fun. 😉


Leave a Reply

