Short Story: Nothing More Than Feelings

Ran into this short story by Mitch Lavender late last Thursday night. It’s been stuck in the back of my head since then. I just had to share.  Don’t let the sadness of the first few lines put you off. (I almost didn’t read it because I thought it would be a heart-breaker. I’m a sucker for dog stories.) This is a startling and interesting piece.

After you’ve praised the author, come back and tell me: could you do it?

Lifein64SquareFeet.com - A Writer's Survival Blog

This story appeared in Untrue Stories, Volume One, by Pantoum Press in 2012.  It was inspired by a story written by David Yu – Standard Loneliness Package.  I hope you like it, and if you do, please share.

 

Nothing More Than Feelings
by Mitch Lavender

Mari showed up at my cubicle at 10:40 in the morning.

“What’s your eleven o’clock?”

I checked my screen, sorted through my cases and replied, “I’ve got a funeral.”

“What kind of funeral?”

I clicked the case and waited for it open. “Grandmother.” I looked at the description. “Oh, man. And I’m a thirteen year-old girl.”

“Want to trade?” Mari asked immediately.

I did funerals every day. Some days, I had three or four in a row, but a grandmother was a tough one, especially when I’m getting the transmission from a thirteen year-old girl. Mari’s case must be super-bad if she wanted to…

View original post 1,065 more words

4 Comments on “Short Story: Nothing More Than Feelings”

  1. Jay Moeller says:

    Renae, I read Mitch’s story and felt the impact of emotion generated by his writing. I had to put down my beloved Simba a couple of years ago and I cried like a baby, unable to inhibit the agony I felt, and the love for Simba overwhelmed me. I’ll never forget the moment with the vet as she graciously helped me deal with my sorrow by staying with me and allowing me to talk about him after I regained control. This story brought back my memories of sorrow that I have had to deal with over the years without the help of the service in Mitch’s story and I’m glad to be alive and able to feel and care. Thank you for sharing the story.

    Jay Moeller

    • It hit me hard too, Jay. I’ve put down a beloved old boxer dog and a cat that helped me raise my kids. (Though we’ll never know how old he was because he was a shelter rescue, we know he was with us for 13 years.) The process is wrenching.

      Normally I wouldn’t be able to read or share a story about euthanasia, but I found the IDEA of someone feeling the grief of another person as a service fascinating. I don’t supppose I’d accept such services for the reason you mention. I MIGHT be able to provide the service though.

  2. Thank you for re-blogging this story, Renae.
    It summarizes what I find myself doing every day to earn a living for myself and my family, so in the moments reality does not demand my full attention, I can write.


Leave a Reply

