Chains of recognition.

The talented, funny folks over at eyelaugh.wordpress.com have included me in this Versatile Blogger Award thing that I’ve been seeing around. It was a pleasant surprise. Eyelaugh is a bright spot in my often dark (by choice) blogroll, and I always enjoy coming across one of their new comics in my reader. (Thanks for choosing The Paranormalist guys!)

When I think about the award itself, I realize that it’s all about the networking. It’s a nice way to share other blogs with one’s regular readers. With that in mind, I’ll follow the rules and offer the award to 15 folks on my list. With a couple of exceptions, I’ll try to keep my suggestions in line with my theme.

Each recipient can do as they please with the award – some folks might not have the inclination to play along, and that’s ok with me.

Before I list my nominees, I should share “The rules for the Versatile Blogger Award”:

1) Thank the person who nominated you and link back to them in a post
2) Share 7 things about you
3) Pass the award on to 15 more bloggers
4) Contact the bloggers you have chosen to let them know that they have been selected

Seven things about The Paranormalist:

  1. I already have a ‘13 things you’d hate about me‘ list on my Backstory tab.
  2. I chose to educate my son at home, independent of a school for entirely secular, academic reasons
  3. …and the term “home school” makes me choke every time I use it. (It makes me think of homespun.)
  4. My favorite flowers are freesia and wild roses.
  5. I adore seafood – well, more specifically, shellfish.
  6. I sleep, almost every night, with the TV on.
  7. I believe there are very few situations that a hot – really hot – bath can’t improve upon or make better.

Now, my nominees:

First, my Tumblr blogs(?) – I’m not sure they are blogs in the traditional sense, but I subscribe to them via my google reader. I can’t even figure out how to comment on their posts – so I don’t know how I’m going to inform them of my selection. In truth, I still haven’t really figured out what a Tumblr is supposed to be, but I love these images that come streaming at me. (Be aware – in the first two, there is occasional partial nudity in the form of Victorian images.)

Now for the at-least-slightly-paranormal-flavored blogs at WordPress and Blogger, as well as the self-hosted:

And, finally, these are distinctly not-paranormal – but I really enjoy the voice / writing / work of the authors:

That was harder than I thought it would be. I faithfully read other blogs as well, and I enjoy each for its own strengths. In the end – I guess – I chose the blogs which I think might most appeal to you – let me know if you find a new love thanks to my recommendations.

If you are one of the blogs I selected above, and you want to participate:

  1.  Download (save file as) the Versatile Blogger Award icon found above, then upload it to your blog in a post similar to this. I’ll be looking forward to your suggestions.
14 Comments on “Chains of recognition.”

  1. Judy says:

    Ccongratulations! Well deserved :)

  2. Congratulations to you, and thanks for the nomination. Awards season is always a fun time, huh? Question: does this come with a gold statuette?

  3. Diana says:

    Congrats on the award and thanks so much for the mention!

  4. benzeknees says:

    Love reading these recommendations – I’m new to blogging, so I check them out & follow those I think would interest me. It’s a great way to develop a reading list. Thanks!

  5. Congratulations and more of the same for you in the future!

  6. Cynthia M says:

    Wow! Given your love for all things paranormal, I’m really flattered to be one of the non-paranormal bloggers to have caught your fancy. Thank you!

  7. Aden Moss says:

    Congratulations, Renae. I’ve enjoyed following your blog and Facebook fan page. The recognition to you is well deserved. Thanks for the nod to my page. I’m honored. :-)

  8. You’re welcome, everyone :) And thanks for the good wishes.

  9. wren08 says:

    Congradulations!

  10. Ray Dean says:

    http://raydean.net/?p=1456

    Congrats for being one of the ‘greats’ on my blog list :D

    Raye


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers