Cool and unusual find in the graveyard: crystal veins in a semi-petrified stump.

Pop over to the blog to see a few photos, if they don't show in your reader.

I didn’t know what to make of this when I saw if from a distance.
At first, I thought is was the remnant of a pile of snow, then a strangely located chunk of rough cement – maybe a horribly crumbled headstone?

Pop over to the blog to see a few photos, if they don't show in your reader.

On closer inspection, I decided it is actually a stump.That’s impressive in its own right, because this would have been a big tree, judging by the amount of weathering it shows. But that’s not why I have become fixated on the object.

Pop over to the blog to see a few photos, if they don't show in your reader.

THIS is the detail that I found most fascinating. In a couple of different sections of the stump, I found veins of mineral crystals. Now I need to understand how something like this happens. Did the crystals form inside the tree while it was alive? Is it possible that the stump – which still features sections that feel like wood – is old enough that the mineral deposit formed after the tree fell?
Are there any mineralogists out there?

3 Comments on “Cool and unusual find in the graveyard: crystal veins in a semi-petrified stump.”

  1. Great pics, made all the more strange because they are in a cemetery. I imagine the crystal deposits are from the roots continuing to suck up moisture even though the tree had been struck down. The mineral rich liquid came up through the stump then ‘bled out’ – perhaps for quite some time. I’m no geologist or mineralogist but that’s my guess.

  2. isthisthemiddle says:

    Fascinating find– this would have intrigued me, too. I hope you’ll let us know if you figure it out!

  3. Over on my Paranormalist Facebook page, one reader wrote: [I'm not quite the mineralist you were hoping for,] but that is petrified wood. With benefits! It happens when the cells of a dead tree get replaced by minerals. There must have been a hollow and the crystals grew there instead of in the rings.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers