Adding more tasks to my writerly to-do list.

I’ve been lazy for the last two days. And that’s okay. It was nice to take some time to celebrate my son and tend my cold-stricken husband. It was also nice to watch some TV, get some extra sleep and prowl some new blogs.

Tonight, however, after my men-folk went to bed, I decided to make a to-do list – to capture all the little tasks I’ve accumulated in relation to writing and investigating … and reluctantly preparing for winter. (Now that it has snowed, and I can no longer deny its arrival.)

It’s 2:41 am. I just finished making the list. I am a bit overwhelmed. I won’t bore you with the details, but I have a couple of writerly things I wanted to share.

Many of us are doing NaBloPoMo. I discovered a fledgling movement to start a National Novel Progress Month. I LOVE this idea. Even though there isn’t much time left in November, I jumped in. I hope the group decides to continue in the upcoming months. (Click the picture to go to the site.)

NaNoProgMo logo

On another blog, I discovered Authonomy.com – a writers’ community┬ásponsored┬áby Harper Collins.

I am intrigued, but I haven’t spent a lot of time looking around yet. Do any of you have experience with it?

5 Comments on “Adding more tasks to my writerly to-do list.”

  1. Diana says:

    The autonomy site looks really interesting.

    Now if I could just find a non fiction community that would make me tick. I think, what I would really love is just a writing group — something small, intimate — that could meet weekly, even if online in a chat room, just to talk the writerly life. I mean we all know what we need to be doing, sometimes I think we just need people to commiserate with. It would be so nice. No one in my real life “gets” it. I can’t be the only one.

    • Oh, let’s do it! Let’s find a chat room, pick a night, invite a writing (blogging) friend or three, and make a date to share a beverage of choice together while we talk about the writing life. Headphones? Simple written chat? Either way, it would be lovely.

  2. teresa says:

    I love the title of your blog and your description. Just that tells me I’ll love the way you write your novel.
    thanks for the links too!
    And I’m so glad you joined us for NaNoProgMo. I do think we’ll do it again. I didn’t realize it was Daily blog posting month as well. That would have put me over the edge.
    As it is, I’m not where I’d like to be… but just like with NaNoWriMo, I’m getting more writing done than I would have and it reminds me to make room for this part of myself.
    I really would love to send you a little NaNoProgMo gift. If you feel comfortable, please do send me your address.
    And Write on!!

    • Tell me you wouldn’t have signed on for NaBloPoMo if you HAD known about it! I can’t believe you are doing anything beside NaNoWrMo … that task will always blow my mind.

      Yes, even as I’m not quite meeting my goals, I am absolutely writing more than I was a month ago.

      How do I safely send my address to you? Is there an email listed at your blog?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers